Access to new medicines just got easier – that's the plan‚ anyway

The chairperson of the SAHPRA board is Professor Helen Rees‚ who was chairperson of the MCC‚ selected “on account of expertise in the fields of medicine‚ medical devices‚ IVD‚ vigilance‚ clinical trials‚ good manufacturing practice‚ public health or epidemiology‚” the department said.

“What we are aiming for with the newly constituted SAHPRA is an efficient‚ relevant and transparent regulatory authority that ensures that South Africans have access to safe‚ effective‚ good quality medicines and medical devices‚ and the information that allows them to use these products with confidence‚” Rees was quoted as saying.

The other board members are: Dr Nonhlanhla Madela-Mntla‚ Prof Shabir Banoo; Prof Henry Leng; Dr Thapelo Motshudi; Prof Kelly Chibale; Prof Aimes Dhai; Prof Jeffrey Mphahlele; Dr Ushma Mehta; Dr Mphane Molefe; Advocate Hasina Cassim; Ms Mandisa Hela (vice-chairperson‚ “on account of knowledge of good governance”; Ms Lesibana Fosu; Mr Norman Baloyi; and Prof Craig Househam.

Source link

More from Matthew Eileen

Small players set for year of the bull

Analysts say small and mid-cap shares could outdo big boys Source link
Read More